MY Hair (the road to recovery)

For some reason, I’ve gotten on a complete health kick. It may be because health awareness has become a big deal all over my city. Maybe I’m just looking for some form of control over my life. What ever the reason, I have decided to make a lifestyle change. I usually only make changes when I want to see a physical difference in my appearance. Like only exercising in the summer when I know a vacation is coming up. However, this time I actually want to focus on being more healthy overall. Inside and out. I think I will document my progress to stay motivated and hopefully get some advice.

 In order to get my body in better shape I have been exercising every day. AND THIS is where my hair comes in to play. I have curly hair. Exercise means sweat, which is great…but sweat means frizzy hair. This was one of main reasons for hating to work out. In high school I would cringe at the though of sweating too much in my hair. One workout, and I have to walk around the rest of the day with dry poofy hair. And adding exercise to my routine this time would be no different. SO what’s a girl to do??? I simply took the excuse away from myself. If I can’t keep my hair straight then I just won’t straighten it.

So far it’s been two weeks and the decision to leave my hair in its natural curl patter was one of the best I’ve ever made. I can work out everyday. Not just a little, but enough to actually work up a sweat and GET FIT. And makes more sense, since I live in a very humid climate. My straight hair never lasted more than a day anyway. Then I would have to do it all over again, which I knew was damaging. But if I didn’t straighten it, my hair would get dry and matted at the roots which would cause tangles and breakage when combing. Ugh! It was just a mess. Sometimes going back to basics is best.

Looking at picture of my hair from last year, it’s easy to see all damage I had done to it. It was COMPLETELY see through! It was very thin and short compared to the way my hair has always been. I have been working on growing my hair back every since then. Finally it had reached my back. But I still want it to grow faster. I have been reading everything I can find about hair and watching Youtube constantly, trying to learn everything I can about how to care for my hair. I have been straightening my hair all of my life. I was a little afraid of wearing it curly, because I didn’t know what to do with it. Honestly, it’s much easier than I thought it would be. It’s very soft and shiny. I’m pleased : ) But if I hadn’t done my research, I doubt it would have went so smoothly.

Now I don’t think my hair looks bad, but right not it is in that awkward medium length phase when it’s curly. I would prefer it to be longer, but I know that will come in time. For right now I mostly like to do twist outs and braid outs. If I get lazy…that tends to happen ; )…and don’t feel like twisting, I just put it in a bun. It’s feeling and looking great. I admit I was skeptical about the benefits of not using heat. I thought as long as I wasn’t using chemicals I was fine. But I can really see and feel a difference in my hair already. Also, not wearing it straight allows me to better moisturize it. It seems that with all that extra moisture, my curly hair is actually more tame than my straightened hair. Into the second week, I noticed that my roots even lay down instead of poofing up.  I’ll do more posts with what products I find that work for curly hair.

braid out

 

twist out

 SO yeah, I’m really happy with the results. If there are any curly haired girls reading this who are thinking about taking some time away from their blow dryer/straightener, I would definitely urge you to give it a try. If anyone has any tips for me about keeping hair well conditioned in the summer weather I would be really grateful for that too : D

Leave a Reply

