What to Do? What to Do?

Ok so i’m sitting here at 9:40 at night with a bit of a dilemma. I was supposed to “DO” my hair to day but I didn’t. By “Do” I mean wash and braid of coarse. I don’t know what happened. I stayed out late last night, woke up late today, and proceeded to do nothing for the rest of the day. It’s not that I’m lazy…today was just not my day. Try as I might I could not make myself do anything. And now I have to go to work tomorrow. For me, braiding my hair is the only way I can insure manageability. I started wearing it that way when my hair was in an awkward mid length. But now that it’s grown to touch my shoulders(when curly) I actually have begun to wonder about different styles I can try.

The longer my hair gets, the more effort it is to put it into braids. I firmly believe that change for the most part is a good thing. I don’t do the same things that I used to do when I first decided to not straighten my hair. Because hair changes, circumstances change, I change. I think that the best thing any woman can do for her hair is to develop healthy practices that work specifically for her hair. Find a routine that keeps your hair healthy, and breakage and damage free, and then stick with it. But when you do get the results you want, and your hair grows and changes, you will no doubt be faced with new challenges just as with any part of life. I have FINALLY stopped looking at these curly hair challenges as a problem, and now see them as a part of my life that simply need a little tweaking.

Now back to my situation. I have waited too late to braid my hair. Usually I have to allow at least ten hours for my braids to air dry(yes i know). But that is because I make them so small. All out of time and options I am once again being forced to make a change. I had been looking up ways to do a wash and go a couple of weeks ago. Maybe I had been sensing that my life had gotten a little less organized and that I needed a quicker way to style my hair. The point is that I found one. I tried it once without any gel. It worked very well, and this was WITHOUT any gel. But I have never worn my hair “out” to work before. It has always been in a braid out, or in buns. Tomorrow will be a first. I’ll wake up in the morning, wash my hair and then try the styling technique I recently learned about.

I’m writing this post because I have the simple question ” Is anybody else experiencing this?” A natural hair journey/no heat hair journey can be a little scary sometimes. I there have been times when I feel very intimidated. Oh, Who am I kidding? Absolutely EVERY time I have done something different with my hair, I have felt intimidated. It’s only human nature right. The thing is that I’m not nervous because I think I will look bad (I would never leave the house wearing a hairstyle that I didn’t think looked cute) but because of the  response I know I will get. As an African American woman where I live, when you wear your hair curly, people notice. Whenever I do ANYTHING different to my hair I am flooded with questions. Any little thing. People ask “How did you get it like that”, “What made you decide to wear it like that today instead of the other way”. I could go on and on.

Why are all these people asking me? The thing that intimidates me is the answering. What do I tell them? I am in no way a hair care professional, and I’m not trying to be. I’m just trying to grow MY hair long. I don’t know why what I did works for me, why I did it, or if it would work for them. As much as I would hope that people wouldn’t notice….they do. But despite all that I need a new way to style my hair for tomorrow. So I’ll wake up and try something new. Will it work great for me? I don’t know. If I don’t like the results, I’ll just put my hair into a bun.

Does anyone else feel the same anxiety about trying new styles with their hair? Do you ever go blank when someone asks you what you did and why? I love to experiment with new hair styles. Absolutely LOVE it. That’s why I feel awkward when I feel like I don’t have the freedom to try something new without drawing the attention, and then comments of every woman whom I have to interact with at work. Keeping in mind that I am the youngest person there and that I do not ASK for comments from women some 20 to 30 years older than me about my hair. Well I guess it’s just a cultural thing. But when it’s all said and done, I’m going to do whatever I want with my hair for whatever my reasons may be. And I hope that any woman or man reading this, that may be experiencing the same thing will do the same.

As always,

                     Peace, Love, & Blessings ❤

Leave a Reply

