Only The Strong Survive

For some reason tonight I started thinking about the differences in peoples lives. It is nice to believe in justice and fairness. But honestly…some people have better lives than others. I wonder how many people get to a point when they think, “What have I done to deserve all this”. I know it hits me sometimes. Some people are born in better circumstances, have better opportunities, a better support system. And then some just don’t have any of that. I couldn’t fall asleep. I racked my brain until I finally came to a simple conclusion…It just is. I believe in karma, but only to a certain extent. While I believe it is true that you can’t go through life doing wrong and then expect good to happen to you. I feel that when you are born, there is no way you could have done anything wrong to cause yourself to fall on hard times. I realized that I could spend forever wondering why things are the way they are, but it doesn’t make any difference. The only thing a person can do is try their hardest to better themselves.

Comparisons can kill a persons will to try. They make you wonder what is the point in trying, if someone else is getting everything the easy way. I see now that to improve my own life, I can’t compare myself to others. As I said before, other people’s circumstances may be different than yours. Different circumstances mean different outcomes. I know that this is general knowledge. But I didn’t always pay attention to it. How many times have you said you wouldn’t compare yourself to others, but later, you find yourself doing it again. That is because we all have things we desire in our lives. It is only natural to observe someone who has what we want to try to find something that they are doing that you are not. But often that is what leaves people frustrated. Because, a lot of the time, those people who possess something we want are not doing anything differently than us. Heck! They may even be doing less than us. So what are we to do? The people who do struggle and seem to get nowhere.

My only advice is to fight. So you didn’t have the best upbringing, the best circumstances. You have been born in a dangerous environment, had a dysfunctional family, been poor, or been born with a disability. The best thing people like us can do is assess exactly what it is we want, and then start working towards that. When you compare yourself to people, what is it that they have, that you feel you lack? Is it a relationship, a job, a family. Figure out what steps you have to take to get the things you want in life. Often that means realizing the sacrifices that we will have to make to have our dreams come true. If you are not in a position where life is easy for you, then you need to understand that it is possible to have the things that you want and need, but it may take longer. And  it may be harder for you to obtain. Persistence is key. Just because the end result is not close to where you are now does not mean it will not happen. Example: I want to get my degree, but I don’t have enough money. SO, I got a job and have saved enough to go to a two year college. I plan on working when I start school so that I can pay off past student loans and keep up with the current expenses. Once I obtain my two year degree, I will have hopefully saved enough to go to a university and get the remaining two years I need. If not, I will just have to get a full time job and try later. It may take six years to get my degree instead of the usual four, but it’s still going to happen. The point I’m trying to make is that just because your circumstances may not be ideal, does not mean that your life is in any way supposed to be a waste. Things may be difficult for you….EXTREMELY difficult. But all that crap is worth putting up with if you are doing what it takes to make the most of your life.

Anything worth having is worth fighting for ❤

Leave a Reply

