Ladies Do Not Be Fooled! + What Do You Buy ?

This is just going to be a quick post. I’ve noticed in my conversations with many African American women, that there are a lot of people that won’t try certain products just because they don’t say all natural, or not specifically for women of color. The conversation starts like this, “Oh your hair looks so beautiful. What did you put in it?” And I reply “Blank Blank product”. And then I get the surprised stare, and the response, “Oh, you must have some other kind of hair. That’s not for black people. That won’t work for me.” ….Well, it works for me. Where are we getting this? That there are some products we can’t even try because they don’t say they are FOR US. After all hair is hair. I understand that we do have different textures of hair. But then, so does everyone else. People all over the world have different hair types and they all need different things. It’s not just US and EVERYONE ELSE.
Also, all natural products are usually expensive. Don’t get me wrong, they are great…but also expensive. What about women who don’t have enough money. I would not commit myself to saying that I will only use all natural products for the rest of my life. I don’t think taking good care of your hair should have to be a burden. And it shouldn’t be limiting.

don't be fooled 1

final don't dont fooled.jpg

read(DBF)

SO if you’re reading this, and you’ve been struggling with this same thing, my advice to you is to loosen up a little. Try some new products say for curly hair…not just black hair. You’ll be surprised at what works out for you. There are some really good products out there that are not in “our” section.

What do you think? How do you feel about the separation of hair products that we sometimes put on ourselves?

4 thoughts on “Ladies Do Not Be Fooled! + What Do You Buy ?

  1. i agree!!!!! I hate walking down the shampoo isle and having the black girls looking at me because I’m picking up a Sauve bottle. The so called “white” hair products work just as good as the african american products.

    • I understand. I have been in that exact same situation.Our hair is unique, not alien…it’s not like using a non ethnic hair product will make your hair catch fire or something lol. Just keep your head up and keep buying whatever’s best for YOUR hair : )

  2. I know how you feel. I stop doing the all natural product things because it was expensive and it wasn’t working for me. I decided to buy the stuff that my hair responds best to, which in most cases, not the natural stuff.

Leave a Reply

