Nervous…Excited…College

I cannot wait for classes to begin tomorrow. Since I moved to a new place, it’s not like I can visit friends or have a close support system. I am READY to get out of this apartment. I was excited to walk get out and see my new neighborhood, even get some exercise…and BAM! snow and ice all week. I cannot remember the last time I wasn’t busy, and as much as I complain about wanting a break, I see that I hate being idle. So even if it means exams and papers, I am excited to get my education back on track. But also nervous. I don’t know why I feel this way. I’ve been to college before. And if anything, this semester seems EASIER than the last. I guess it’s just a natural reaction to doing something new. I haven’t even thought about what I will wear.

I wish I could go back before my first experience at college and tell myself not to worry so much, because:

1) college is NOTHING like high school
2) it really doesn’t matter what you wear
3) there is a lot more freedom
4) all that freedom can be dangerous..not just because of you, but because all of the other young people have freedom
5) be very careful who you let come around you/make connections with
6) if you don’t like someone..you don’t have to be around them, which in my experience cuts down on a lot of conflict
7) even though you’re in school, you actually won’t be in class that much
8) don’t take out loans. Just DONT. If you don’t have the money now, you probably won’t have it when you graduate. Unless you become fabulously wealthy within the years you are there. If you have to take your classes a few at a time do so, and work in the mean time. Not ideal, but necessary!
9) don’t stress. Try you’re hardest, but if you just don’t get something (cough, cough, Math) it’s not the end of the world.
10) You don’t really have to try to fit in. You’ll just find you place..it’s really not hard if you be yourself.

Even though I’ve gone to college before, I think that living on my own and having a job adds a new level of pressure. But I know from experience that pressure can be a good thing. It pushes us to be out best. I’m ready to be my best : )

Leave a Reply

