Trying to Teach Myself Adobe Photoshop and Illustrator

I can honestly say that I’ve tried every type of art school imaginable. University…CHECK. College…CHECK. Community College..CHECK! And I’ve come to the conclusion that it is just very hard to find a school where people will actually teach you. After all, what exactly is art and who is qualified to teach it. Turns out…not many people. So I decided that in 2014 I would not waist any more money or time. If no one in my region will teach me the things I need to know, I’ll teach myself. I actually hate the fact that I did not realize the huge body of teaching aids online for learning Adobe Photoshop and Illustrator. YouTube videos and practice. That’s what I need. This year I’m taking a course in something that I can immediately get a job doing. But I still have my dream of making at least a fraction of my living from art. I just have to go about it in a different way. Since I decided to use this blog for the soul purpose of keeping track of journey to becoming a WORKING artist, I thought it would be a good idea to update on the things that I am learning and hopefully get some feedback from people as to what needs improvement, how I can learn faster, and different techniques. Last night I learned how to make banners in illustrator. Don’t laugh, I really didn’t know how to do it before. And now I do πŸ™‚

this video is an excellent teaching tool

my practice

banners

This is me trying to do something cool with the new skill I just learned.

final London picture

This picture took waaaaaaaaay longer than anyone would have ever thought. But for a beginner I feel I did a pretty good job.

Anyway I would love for someone to let me know what they think and if you have any suggestions or know of any other resources to help me learn more please post in a comment.

That’s all for now πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

